Monday, October 4, 2010

We're Back, Bitches!

After an over-extended summer hiatus (aka - laziness), we're back with a new-and-improved movie reviews!  Our first one for Easy A is up and posted below - let us know what you think!

Hugs and kisses!

Your Opinion of "Easy A"

Thursday, September 2, 2010

KK Reviews "The American"

On the topic of reviews, skip The American. I can save everyone 10 bucks (spoiler alert) ;

Clooney scowls.

Clooney shoots his girlfriend.

Clooney goes to Rome, scowls.

Clooney sleeps with hot Italian, yet still scowls.

Clooney talks to a priest, scowls.

Clooney builds a gun.

Clooney dies, scowls.

Fade to black.


Friday, June 25, 2010

Mrs. Amanda Reviews KNIGHT AND DAY

I had forgotten how much I liked Tom Cruise.  Like Mission: Impossible, Knight and Day is Tom at his best: confident, charming, and funny.  The story is tight, Cameron Diaz is entertaining (and not as ditzy as I expected her to play, thank goodness), and the action sequences are short and full of explosions.  To get to the point immediately in this review, I really dug this movie and I would see it again.

If, for some reason you haven't clicked away because you already have the gist of what I thought, here's my slightly-more extended version:

Monday, June 21, 2010

KK Reviews the A-Team

Also available for bar mitzvahs!

"...if no one else can help you, and if you can find them, maybe you can hire The A-Team".

So began one of the greatest shows of my childhood. Half shoot 'em up and half buddy comedy, the tv show brought together George Peppard with Mr. T and threw in Dirk Benedict and Dwight Shultz to form a quartet of slightly crazy ass-kickers who never really hurt anyone. Explosions, gun fights, Mr. T and Face, plus the irascible Howlin' Mad Murdoch. How could you go wrong?
Bradley Cooper looks tired after a long day on-set.

With fond memories in my heart, I was pretty, pretty, pretty excited to see the movie incarnation of the beloved series, and figured the casting looked pretty strong. I have been a big fan of Sharlto Copley since District 9, and Liam Neeson is always quite good. Its not difficult to get AK to anything showing Bradley Cooper, and I was interested to see how Rampage Jackson would do.

So, you ask, how the heck was the movie? Much better than you would expect, actually. The previews for this film were cringe-inducing and I was considering skipping the movie altogether just based on that. However, given that there are relatively few decent pictures available, I went anyways and was pleasantly surprised.

The movie provides a little bit of back-story on how the four main characters all meet, and nicely ties in the current war on terror to the plot line. It has the now somewhat typical tendency to make the CIA the bad guys, and to showcase a thinly veiled version of Blackwater as the badder guys, but the film is mercifully light on any political messages.

Now say it after me, "I pity the fool"

Acting wise, I felt Copley really stole the show as Murdoch. The character, being insane and all, obviously has a lot more comedic opportunities, but Copley managed to put his own stamp on the role and provided a good dose of humour when needed. Neeson is obviously a very good actor. He inhabited the role made famous by George Peppard and gave just enough homage to make the transition seamless, and did it all without looking like he was slumming. Cooper is a star on the rise, and was the right choice for the role. Able to look believable as a charming ladies man or military ass-kicker, Cooper did the role justice and then some. Jackson, being a little light on the experience, did a decent job with what he was given, but the writers seemed to have him repeating lines (either Hell No or Hell Yeah) every other sentence.

Acting aside, The A-Team had all the elements of a good shoot-em-up. Several explosions, some good chases, high-tech gadgets and some rowdy boy humour. The final scene was a little too reminiscent of a scene in The Losers, but all in all you couldn't really ask for more in a PG-13 movie.

Jessica Biel stops to ponder why she is even in the movie.

The plot is a little thin, Jessica Biel is completely unnecessary and the movie has perhaps a few too many over-the-top action sequences (using the main gun on a tank to slow the descent of said tank?). That said, A-Team was a better-than-average summer popcorn flick that can and will keep you entertained, provide a few laughs and makes sure the good guys prevail in the end. They were faithful enough to the original (Hannibal uses a Mini-14!) to keep me happy, and they dispensed with the poor shooting (Storm trooper bad) that made the tv show look bad and in doing so came out with a movie you should see!

3 out of 4 Handies.

Thursday, June 17, 2010


Get Him to the Greek, the new-ish Russell Brand-Jonah Hill vehicle, is ostensibly a sequel to 2008's Forgetting Sarah Marshall. That film featured Brand and Hill in supporting roles that were quite funny, and in Brand's case, star-making.

Greek stars the aforementioned Hill as Aaron Green, a lowly record company executive who is given his big chance by producer Sergio Roma (P.Diddy). The problem is that his chance involves getting notoriously rowdy (and down on his luck) rock star Aldous Snow to Los Angeles from London in 72 hours. Oh, and PS, Snow has been on a multi-year drugs and booze bender since the breakup of his union with girlfriend Jackie (Rose Byrne) and the demise of his career after a poorly thought out tribute to African children.

Tuesday, June 15, 2010


Much to the chagrin of its fans (present company included), Legend of the Seeker was canceled last month after the conclusion of its second season.  Not able to imagine a world without a Mord-Sith or a Confessor, the LoTS fans have kicked their show-saving efforts into high gear, firing off thousands of letters, purchasing a number of advertisements, and collecting DVDs for local libraries.  You can read more about it here.

So, this begs the question - is the effort worth it?  Can a canceled show be saved?  And the answer is...of course!  To name a few:

Mrs. Amanda (Super-Briefly) Talks CRIMINAL MINDS

There are going to be some casting changes on the next season of Criminal Minds - namely, AJ Cook is out and Paget Brewster is only part-time (suck-o - I love me some Paget).  Read about it here.

This is a moot point to me, though, because Kyle and I will be switching over from the original Criminal Minds to Criminal Minds: Suspect Behavior (the spin-off) sister has been named the Co-Casting Director on it!  YAY!  Not that we won't check back to see what Joe and Shemar and Matthew are up to, but I'm only going to recap CM:SB.

Monday, June 7, 2010

Mrs. Amanda Reviews THE MTV MOVIE AWARDS

I think I'm officially too old for the MTV Movie Awards.  Truth be told, though, I'm pretty sure that 90% of the audience (excluding the Twilight cast and Zac Efron) were past viewing prime.  How did I know that I was too old?  Even with the incessant swearing, the bright, flashing lights, the hot teeny-bopper stars, I was bored.  Here's the benchmark: if you joined in when Peter Facinelli sang the now-retired MTV theme song, this year's awards show was probably not for you.
If this photo doesn't make your panties moist, you're too old for the MTV Movie Awards.

Friday, June 4, 2010

Mrs. Amanda Reviews IRON MAN 2

I saw Iron Man 2 with my husband, sister and parents on its opening weekend, but I waited to blog about it until I could see if the bad reviews were agreed upon by actual audiences and not just critics. In terms of my own family, I was the only one who really dug it…which seems to be the general consensus with the masses. Fortunately for all of you, my opinion is the only one that counts ;).

Here’s the storyline: 

Thursday, June 3, 2010

Guest Stars We Like - Jackie Debatin

As a couple of new Netflix customers, AK and I have been watching Season 1 of Party Down via the X-Box. While its tough to break away from MW2 (Go Team FeaR), watching the hilarious Party Down has more than made up for my loss.

In the first episode, "Willow Canyon Homeowners Annual Party", we saw the familiar face (several, actually) of Jackie Debatin. This lovely was previously known to us only as Elizabeth the Stripper from the "Ben Franklin" and "Fun Run" episodes of The Office. She plays a horny homeowner in Party Down, and does it with style! Her charms seem to work on Henry, whom she recognizes from his beer commercial, and she gives him a handy in his car at the end of the episode.

The Penny Project: Correction and New Find

The Penny Project continues to run wild with success. 31 cents worth of success, to be exact. Recent hot finds have included 15 cents in a dressing room in Winnipeg, 5 cents at a Tim Horton's and a penny at a funeral.

The correction I want to make is to note that due to a severe misuse of math, I figured we needed 1000 pennies, when we actually need 10,000! The mistake should have been fairly obvious, but I totally missed it. So, the count down will continue but it will take just a little longer! 9893 pennies to go!

Wednesday, June 2, 2010


We just finished up a long weekend in the United States, which meant that I had an entire extra day to catch up on my tv watching.  I was flipping around on Sunday morning (instead of taking a nice bike ride or doing something productive) when I came across Van Wilder - specifically, the scene where the nerdy fraternity pays Van to throw them a non-nerd party.  At said party, two of the geeks are playing Ms Pac-Man instead of mingling with the ladies.  I recognized one of the fellas ("Vernon") as Simon Helberg of The Big Bang Theory fame.

However, while perusing the Internet for a screencap of the scene (didn't find one), I realized that his on-screen cohort ("Panos Patakos") was none other than Jason Winer.  Who, you might ask?  Well, let me explain:

Tuesday, June 1, 2010

KK Gives You Your Opinion of MACGRUBER

We used this long Memorial Day weekend to take in Macgruber, the Saturday Night Live-inspired comedy featuring Will Forte, Kristen Wiig, Ryan Phillippe and Val Kilmer. Though AK was a little less than inspired, calling it "two awesome actors surrounded by ridiculousness," I thought it met and exceeded any expectations I might have had.

Thursday, May 27, 2010

Wrapping Up The Big Bang Theory

Season 3 of The Big Bang Theory has wrapped up for the season, and we are basically left with the status quo. Sheldon is a kook, Leonard and Penny are not dating and Raj and Howard are fond of hi-jinks.

Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Wrapping Up The Pacific

Well, its over. Sledge and Lecke won the war in the Pacific and can go back home. While its true that our boys did personally bring Imperial Japan to its knees (Lecke with his whining and Sledge with his own brand of unhinged warfare), your connection has to last just a little longer while I recap and review Episodes Nine and Ten.

How long is this review going to be?

Wednesday, May 19, 2010

KK Tells You Your Opinion of Robin Hood

AK and I took in the new Robin Hood this past Sunday on a heavily chaperoned date. We had been anticipating its release since we first saw the trailers, and the film did not disappoint. Starring Russell Crowe as Robin Longstride (Robin of the Hood), the film takes the position of being sort of a prequel to the Robin Hood stories with which most of us are familiar.

Mrs. Amanda Recaps CRIMINAL MINDS (Episode 5x21 "Exit Wounds")

Once again, I'm late on my CM post.  To make up for it, two casting stories from my sister (plus hooray that the spinoff was picked up!):

The Penny Project: Catching Up

It has been an auspicious 10 days for the Penny Project, with the fund racking up 26 cents in places ranging from the bathroom at a Scheels to lowly alleys to the new Twins' stadium.

The lucre is pictured below.

Wednesday, May 12, 2010

Mrs. Amanda Recaps CRIMINAL MINDS (Episode 5x20 "A Thousand Words")

This post is a little late because we were celebrating Kyle's birthday last Wednesday!  Although I guess it comes just in time to get you amped up for this week's new ep.

Before we begin, a word from my beautiful sister, the Casting Associate on CM:

Tuesday, May 11, 2010

TV Crossover - Judy Greer and Basically Every Show on Television (THE BIG BANG THEORY)

Seriously, Judy Greer is in everything.  Click here to see some of her recent past performances. This week she's double-stuffing CBS, first on The Big Bang Theory and later on How I Met Your Mother.

Wanna know why she's always on TV?  Because she's hilarious.  On The Big Bang Theory, she played Dr. Elizabeth Plimpton, a genius horn dog with role playing desires.  After she beds Leonard, she does her best to wrangle a sexy four-way with Raj, Howard and Leonard...but only ends up with Raj after Leonard reminds them that "We'd be naked in front of each other."

This Is Your Opinion on the SATURDAY NIGHT LIVE (Betty White)

Thanks to an aggressive campaign on Facebook, Betty White found herself hosting Saturday Night Live this past weekend. To honour this occasion (and Mother's Day), the show brought back several luminaries including: Tina Fey, Amy Poehler, Ana Gasteyer, Molly Shannon, Rachel Dratch and Maya Rudolph. Sounds like this had the makings of a stellar episode, right? Well, wrong actually.

Penny Project Update

We have just returned from Minneapolis, and the Twin Cities did not disappoint the Penny Project. A single penny at Mall of America and a dime at the Eden Prairie AMC put another 11 cents into the coffers.
We are already down to 950, and just a few (hundred) more to go.

Thursday, May 6, 2010

Great Moments in Penny Project History

May 6th is not really a noteworthy day, except for the fact that I have found 12 cents before 9:00am. Take that Army!

In two separate locations, about a mile apart, I managed to track down two nickels and two pennies (the nickels were in a puddle) and put a big dent in the 1000 pennies we need to find.

Monday, May 3, 2010

Mrs. Amanda Recaps THE PACIFIC (Episode 8, "Iwo Jima")

As you know, I've been pretty down on The Pacific because frankly, up until last week, it sucked.  However, last week's ep was much better, and this week's episode was fantastic...but you had to watch all the way to the end to feel its impact.

Friday, April 30, 2010

This is Your Opinion of THE LOSERS

Amanda and I braved the rain last night and made our way to the Carmike 10 to see The Losers. Based on the Vertigo comic of the same name, features a motley crew of soldiers/mercenaries reminiscent of the A-Team.

Tuesday, April 27, 2010

The Penny Project: 974

I found this little gem today as I was walking to get a haircut. Right outside a gas station that was inexplicably blaring "Danger Zone" over the loudspeakers, this penny is now number 974.

Monday, April 26, 2010

THE PACIFIC: Episode 7

Episode 7: Peleliu Hills, much like Episode 6, is Sledge heavy. A welcome relief from the wall-to-wall Leckie that we had been subjected to from Episode 1 until now, E7 was the best to date.
Ever the team player, Sledge does his best Leckie impression.

The Penny Project (985-975)

The Penny Project had another big find this weekend, with a dime found on the way back from a 2-for-1 Long Island Tea night at a local bar.
Despite the late hour and the bleary eyes, we both spotted this dime laying in the street.
The picture below is a re-enactment of the scene:

Sunday, April 25, 2010

Mrs. Amanda Recaps V In Pictures (Episode 1x8 "We Can't Win")

Our heroes are shocked, SHOCKED to find out that their "John May Lives" message has gotten 6 members of the Fifth Column killed and a list of members into the hands of the V.  Fortunately, one guy escaped, though - so no harm, no foul.

Lisa and her perky boobs fail the empathy test thanks to all the dry-humping with Tyler.

Thursday, April 22, 2010

The Penny Project 987 and 986

Another banner day for the Penny Project, with not one but two coppers found on a single parking lot. These were found at the corner of Washington and Demers in Grand Forks, ND. Pictures below:

Wednesday, April 21, 2010

The Pacific: Episode 6

Episode 6 of The Pacific has Sledge, Leckie and the other boys of the 1st Marine Division still on Pelelieu. They have consolidated the gains they made the 1st day and are preparing to move across the airfield and eventually assault the hills, where the Japanese have holed up.

The battle promises to be bloody, and the entrenched Japanese are using their artillery to such effect that the Marines are not able to re-supply. Meaning, in short, that they are once again low on ammunition and water. In fact, much of the episode deals with the thirst the guys are feeling and how that is almost as bad as the enemy they are facing.

Sledge and Co. take cover under a Toyota with a faulty accelerator.

Monday, April 19, 2010

The Penny Project (999-988)

Sunday, April 17th was a banner day for the Penny Project. We were at the mall looking for something called "The Omega Chain," which sounds like a Clive Cussler book but is really just a piece of jewelry.

While there, we found a cool 11 cents, bring our total to 12 cents and leaving only 988 pennies to go until we donate to charity.

Location pictured below:

Guest Actors We Like (I heart you, John Rhys-Davies)

I (Amanda) can quote literally every single line from Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade.  And so how pumped was I to tune into Legend of the Seeker (Episode 2x17 "Vengeance") this Saturday and see this guy:

If you don't know who this is, then you haven't seen Lord of the Rings or the aforementioned Indiana Jones or Spongebob Squarepants and so there's really no reason for you to frequent this site because you should be locking yourself in a closet as a punishment for sucking.  The rest of the living, breathing world knows this is John Rhys-Davies.  Enough said.

Sunday, April 18, 2010

Mrs. Amanda Reviews KICK-ASS

Awesomeness, thy name is Hit-Girl.

Kick-Ass was not at all what I expected - although the movie is based on a comic book, so if I had taken two minutes and did a little Internet research before heading off to the theater, I wouldn't have been so surprised.

Frankly, the trailers and posters for this movie do not do it justice.  They make it look like a nerdapalooza comedy, where geeks dress up like superheroes and hilarity know, She's Out of My League, but with few boobies.  The actual Kick-Ass is a violent,  foul-mouthed, smart film created in the image of a modern-day true action comic book - think of the recent Batman franchise with brighter costumes (and I'm sure there will be plenty of tits once the unrated version heads to DVD).

The Penny Project

Amanda and I seemingly find a lot of pennies in our travels. Likely its really no more than any other person, but to us it feels like a lot. We usually set them aside and throw them in collection baskets from time to time, but yesterday we got to thinking that perhaps we should save them to see how long it takes to get 1000.

Figuring that the 1000 pennies would be a cool $100, we could then donate it to a charity and have something to fill these pages. So, without further ado, we wish to announce that we have found a penny and now only need 999 to reach our goal.

Penny #1 was found on April 17th, 2010 right near our house. Pictures are below:

Friday, April 16, 2010

Hot Girls I Did Not Forget About

Amanda has been running an irregular series of posts whenever she seems a handsome fellow on television that she forgot existed. In the spirit of things, I am going to also run irregular posts about hot chicks I didn't forget about. My memory is excellent.

The first contenders are two young ladies from across the Atlantic. Crystal and Charline from the Windows 7 commercials. Crystal, who is English and Charline, French, grace two of the Windows ads that are both clever and appealing. Mainly because they aren't Macs.

Lets take a look at Crystal first:

Very lovely. Pip, pip and all that.

And now Charline:

Magnifique! Tres belle.

These two are obviously very lovely and seemingly computer savvy. So, since the State Department no longer wishes to have a special relationship with neither France nor Britain, I wills step up to the plate in the name of foreign relations. I would like be the English Channel to these girls, Crystal representing the UK and Charline representing France. I can be the buffer between the two, connecting them in ways only geography can imagine. I would caress their, ahem, shores, provide a Chunnel between the two and gently bring the two together with Crystal's white Dover cliffs teasing the inviting beachs of Calais. Feel free to see through my double geography entendre.

The ball's in your court ladies.

Thursday, April 15, 2010

Mrs. Amanda Recaps CRIMINAL MINDS (Episode 5x19 "Rite of Passage")

This episode surrounds a topic near and dear to our hearts, because Kyle just received his unrestricted Green Card notice in mail this week (if you haven't figured it out already, he's Canadian).  And yep, we went through the long, expensive, time-consuming, and legal route, unlike our friendly neighborhood victims this week.

But, more importantly, here is the latest casting story from my sister

KK Recaps and Gives You Your Opinion on V: S1E7 "John May"

Episode 7, entitled "John May", curiously revolves around the 5th Column and their search for the semi-mythical John May and plans to rescue Georgie, who is still in captivity on the V Mother Ship.

Ryan (Morris Chestnut) believes that there is a way to communicate with the 5th Columnists on board the ship and that John May might still have the tool to do it. Seeing this as the best way to rescue Georgie, the gang heads upstate to where John May used to live. Kyle (Charles Measure) thinks Ryan is keeping secrets, and there is tension between the two men.

John May is convinced he sees aliens in the grass.

Wednesday, April 14, 2010

Your Opinion of DATE NIGHT, in Limerick Form

Amanda and I saw "Date Night" last night and, as the poet laureate of South Grand Forks, I offer my review in the form of a limerick:

Carrell and Fey together
With a plot, light as a feather
Franco was sweet
The movie was sheet
I'd rather watch the weather.

Tuesday, April 13, 2010

Mrs. Amanda Reviews THE PACIFIC (Episode 5, "Peleliu Landing")

As you may recall, I wasn't too thrilled with the early episodes of The Pacific.  We're now halfway through the miniseries, and so I thought I'd give an update on all of my innermost feelings.

Nope, still don't like it.

Quote from THE BIG BANG THEORY (Episode 3x19 "The Wheaton Recurrence")

SHELDON: Perhaps he’s at a sensitive point in his menstrual cycle. 
WOLOWITZ: Are you saying he’s man-struating? 

KOOTHRAPPALI: Big or small, I don’t like rabbits. They always look like they are about to say something, but they never do. 
SHELDON: Rabbits do have a respiratory system that would support great size – and, on a side note, they are one of the few mammals whose scrotum is in front of the penis. 
KOOTHRAPPALI: Maybe that’s what they want to talk about. 

This is Your Opinion of HOW TO MAKE IT IN AMERICA, Episode 7

Episode 7, Keep on Truckin', is noteworthy because it sees the guys come tantalizingly close to realizing their dream of getting Crisp off the ground and because it dashes those dreams in a heartbeat.

The good news/bad news feel of this episode was a lot of fun. The guys found all the shirts they needed and had them printed. Good. They don't have enough money to pay Rene. Bad. The Japanese buyer tells Cam that if the shirts sell well enough, he will order some hoodies. Good. Rene forces the guys to peddle Rasta Monsta to pay off their debt. Bad. Rene has a chance to meet with the owner of Rasta Monsta to discuss securing the North American rights. Good. Rene's parole officer catches the thugs smoking up in Rene's office and insists on coming to the meeting. Bad.

Thursday, April 8, 2010

Your Opinion of HOW TO MAKE IT IN AMERICA, Episode 6

Episode 6, entitled "Good Vintage", focuses on the guys desperately searching for 300 vintage t-shirts to fill the order from the Japanese clothier. Despite his best efforts, Cam has found only a handful and is paying top dollar for each one he finds. Ben skips out on work to help him and they find a HOT retail chick to help them out. She introduces them to her wholesaler, and they are in business. Literally.

Mrs. Amanda Recaps CRIMINAL MINDS (Episode 5x18 "The Fight")

Last night's episode was the starting point for the long-awaited spinoff with Forest Whitaker.  My family has been hearing about this episode for months from my sister as they cast the new BAU team, and so we were pretty excited to see the result (which was awesome).  If this episode is any indication of the show, it's going to be more action-oriented than the original Criminal Minds which should provide a nice contrast.

Before I get to the recap, here is a word from Erica:

This is Your Opinion of THE PACIFIC: Episode 4

Having watched The Pacific with eager anticipation for the time when the series will have make the move from mediocre to awesome, I was stoked to get back from Texas and check out Episode 4. Naively, I believed that the Marines would be all fresh from screwing and drinking their way through Australia and be ready to fight the Japanese.

The only known photo of Leckie with mouth closed.

This is how my mind envisions the script for Episode 4:

Sunday, April 4, 2010

Mrs. Amanda Tells You Your Opinion on HOT TUB TIME MACHINE

Hot Tub Time Machine is the manifesto of today's unsatisfied gentlepersons, an engrossing tale that tangles the Moirae's thread and gives us a glimpse of what could be, if not what is.

Hot Tub Time Machine is exactly what you'd expect it to be. 

It's not like people are standing at the movie line saying, "Well, Professor Johnstone, should we see The White Ribbon (Das weisse Band) or Hot Tub Time Machine?"  You know what you're getting into with this movie - you see the words "Hot Tub" and you either imagine 1) a porno, or 2) a funny, silly, and vapid flick that's two hours of pure entertainment.  And that's Hot Tub Time Machine (the second one, not the porno - although there is a lot of dick talk in HTTM).

Friday, April 2, 2010

Hot Guys I (Amanda) Forgot About

Kyle had to be at the airport at 6:00am today, which gave me a chance to get back and bed and watch a little Saved By The Bell: The College Years before work. As a child of the (ahem) 80s, I spent a LOT of time with SBBT and had plenty of perfectly healthy fantasies involving Mark-Paul Gosselaar. But I also developed another crush once The College Years began - with Patrick Fabian, who played "Professor Jeremiah Lasky."  Professor Lasky was the gang's favorite teacher/Kelly's secret boyfriend (although they broke up because of the age gap - he was TOO OLD at 32).

I did a quick IMDB search on Patrick, and it turns out he's done a ton of television work, including a recent stint on Big Love.  So, hooray.  Nice to see you again, Patrick.
Patrick then.

Patrick now.

Screencap-tion Contest of the Week (Courtesy of LEGEND OF THE SEEKER)

WE HAVE A WINNER!  Congratulations to Melanie with:
RICHARD: If I stare at her hard enough, maybe she won't want to kill me.
CREATOR: If he stares at me any harder, I'm going to kill him early.
Melanie, please send me your episode selection/email address via the contact link on the right side of this blog.  And everyone else, please come back on Friday for the next Screencap-tion Contest!

See if you can beat mine (it shouldn't be hard - I'm having a sleepy Friday) by Monday, April 5 at 10:00am.  The winner will get their Seeker episode of choice on iTunes (for US residents only - if you aren't from the States and you win, you can claim all the glory and gift your ep to an American friend).

Richard tries hard to figure out how someone so small can be such a gigantic pain in the butt.

PS - Seeker fans, have you watched V yet?

Thursday, April 1, 2010

Mrs. Amanda Recaps CRIMINAL MINDS (Episode 5x8 "Outfoxed")

I have been avoiding reruns of this episode – not because it isn’t well-written or well-acted (which it is), but because it’s so disturbing and creepy that I can’t stop thinking about it after I’m finished with it. So, I wasn’t going to watch it again this week, but my sister actually sent me two casting anecdotes and I’ve been laughing at the second one all day (in fact, I’m going to put it somewhere inside this recap so you actually have to read it…or at least scroll down until you see the quotes text). So, fine. Here is Erica’s first quip: 

This Is Your Opinion on HOW TO MAKE IT IN AMERICA, Episode 5

With our DVR queue back to normal, Amanda and I were finally able to catch up on all of our back episodes of How to Make it in America.

With the status-quo Episode 4 (Unhappy Birthday) out of the way, we were looking forward to Episode 5: Big in Japan and hoping that something would actually happen. Wonder no more reader, as Cam and Ben finally get their long awaited sample of their new Crisp jeans. The sample, however, turns out to be less-than-Crisp and looked like something you would find your nerdy uncle wearing. The waist went up to Ben's belly button and they featured the hot tapered leg look.

Wednesday, March 31, 2010

Mrs. Amanda Picture Recaps V (Espisode 1x5 "Welcome to the War")

V IS BACK!  Here is what happened in the latest episode:

Father Jack (Joel Gretsch) graciously gets stabbed in the stomach in episode 4 in order to quickly bring us up to speed in episode 5 as to what is good and what is bad.

This is Your Opinion of HOW TO MAKE IT IN AMERICA, Episode 4

As you may have surmised, AK and I are a little late to the party in terms of when we get to see How To Make It In America. We missed Episode 4 and it took a couple of weeks until one of us remembered to record in on our DVR.

TV Crossover

I was recently reading an article entitled 12 Actresses You Should Know Better and happened to notice Ellie Kemper (from The Office) on the list. Little did I know she was the star of one of the most popular internet videos at my law school. Yes, she was the BJ Girl.

Years later, this video is still hilarious AND cringe worthy. Well played Miss Kemper.

Monday, March 29, 2010

Where Have All the Jumpy Attacks Gone? (on LEGEND OF THE SEEKER)

This week's Legend of the Seeker clipisode, "Creator" reminded me of some awesomeness that we haven't seen in a while: the Richard Jumpy Attack.
Frankly, Craig rocks the stretch pants and riding boots look better than I do.

Here's another one to wet your whistle (although he's not attacking here, only jumping):
 Richard Cypher: Able to leap off tall buildings in a single bound.

Consider this post my one-person petition to bring back the Jumpy Attack.  Who's with me?